Minutes of the Refugee Support Devon (RSD) AGM held on 1st November 2023 at 6pm at Exeter Community Centre

Present:

Jenny Longford (Chair), David Mezzetti (Company Secretary), Bob Mycock (Company Director), Denise Parker (Education and Employment Coordinator), Rupert Blomfield (Manager), Ruth Grove-White, Michelle Lambourne (Treasurer), Edie Fassnidge, Jeremy Toye, Souad Fadel (Resettlement and IA Hotel Coordinator), Anne Gwynn, Andrew Kennedy, Nicola Beglin, Anne Conway, Ella Marsh (IA Hotel Support Worker), Trupti Desai (Administrator), Alice Osborne, Alex Goodman, Abdullah Kuzu, Peter Skelton, Clare Henry, Jen Schoen (ESOL Coordinator), Trevor Perkins, Mariana, Valentina Todino (Drop-in Coordinator), Kiven Emmanuel (Senior Drop-in Coordinator) Ibrahim and Fatoumata Camara and children, Stephen Matthewman (DCC), Elizabeth Smith (Minutes Secretary).

On Zoom:

Julie Paget, Emily Robins, Jury Arevalo, Richard Hickman, Anne Blanchflower, Gerald and Laura Conyngham, Mark Bareham.

Apologies:

Susie Nicholls, Betina Winkler, Woan-Yi Chan, Sophie Gower, Abi Hindriks, Anna Alpe, Anna Camilleri, David Pryke, Grace Frain, Sir Brian and Lady Souter, Philippa, Sharon Woodfield, Christine Townsend, Sara Fox, Emma Marshall, Jeni Fulton Price, Anna Jameson Evans, Nick Floyd, Peter Tansley, Sheila Sloane, Peter Faithfull, Hilary Noakes

Others who expressed an intention to attend either in person or by zoom: June Marshall, Carolyn Petersen, Freya Cowan, Jaime Wheeler, Liz Vizard, Annabel Taylor-Ross, Karen Scott-Boyd, Shehany Warnakulasuriya, Tom Stone.

1. Minutes of the previous AGM held on 18th October 2022:

There were no matters arising from the minutes of 18th October 2022. Jeremy Toye proposed and Nicola Beglin seconded the approval of the minutes and this was agreed by all.

2. Annual Report and Accounts for the year 2022 - 2023:

It was proposed by David Mezzetti and seconded by Bob Mycock that the accounts for 2022-2023 be signed off as correct. This was agreed by all. There was a strong vote of thanks to Michelle Lambourne for her hard work and commitment to keeping the accounts in good order.

3. Appointment of Directors:

Michelle Lambourne has joined as Treasurer, Shehany Warnakulasuriya and Mark Barham have also joined. Rupert proposed and Ruth seconded the motion to ratify the new trustees and all those present agreed to their appointment.

The Chair-person (Jenny Longford) and Secretary (David Mezzetti) stood down and stood for re-election having expressed willingness to continue; Bob took the chair. Denise Parker proposed and Jennifer Schoen seconded the motion that Jenny be re-elected. Trupti Desai proposed and Valentina Todino seconded the motion that David be re-elected. The meeting agreed their re-election unanimously.

The meeting paid tribute to Kev Hunter who volunteered with RSD for years and had recently become a Board member the year before he sadly died; Peter Bainbridge was a much respected trustee for many years, and we have just learned the sad news of his death.

4. Any other business:

There was no other business.