

# Minutes of the Refugee Support Devon (RSD) AGM held on 26<sup>th</sup> November 2024 at 6pm at Exeter Community Centre

#### Present:

Jenny Longford (Chair), Reem Alasaad, Hasan Alkhalid, Omer Alkhalid, Ghena Alkhalid, Leyan Alkhalid, Lila Alvarado, Nicola Beglin, Rupert Blomfield (Manager), Scott Bradridge, Philip Clark, Elina Davtian, Trupti Desai, Anna Camilleri, Simon Chater, Kiven Emmanuel, Souad Fadel, Shaun Gillanders (Treasurer), Alex Goodman, Ruth Grove-White, Helen Hartstein, Anna Jameson Evans, Tim Lannin, Arlind Lleshi, Hyre Lleshi, Ella Marsh, June Marshall, Emma Marshall, Stephen Matthewman, David Mezzetti (Company Secretary), Rebecca Michel, Bob Mycock, Denise Parker, Trevor Perkins, Peter Skelton, Elizabeth Smith (Minutes), Jenny Stephens, Valentina Todino, Anna Volkova.

#### On Zoom:

Jury Arevalo, Anne Conway, Lul Seyom.

## Apologies:

Pat Barker, Mark Breeze, Mollie Courtney, Philip Courtney, Sara Greenwood, Tony Griffin, Clare Henry, Susie Nicholls, Sylvia Rigby, Kate Wilder, Liz Vizard.

## 1. Minutes of the previous AGM held on 1st November 2023:

There were no matters arising from the previous minutes. Rupert Blomfield proposed and Trupti Desai seconded the approval of the minutes and this was agreed by all.

## 2. Annual Report and Accounts for the year 2023 - 2024:

Tim Lannin of Francis Clark, auditors, presented a detailed summary of the financial position and accounts for Refugee Support Devon.

It was proposed by Shaun Gillanders and seconded by Ruth Grove-White that the accounts for 2023-2024 be signed off as correct. This was agreed by all.

## 3. Appointment of Directors:

Mark Bareham, Edie Fassnidge and Michelle Lambourne have resigned as trustees and they were thanked for their contributions to the work of RSD.

Jury Arevalo has joined the Board in the last year, Shaun Gillanders has joined as Treasurer, Helen Hartstein has joined as Chair of Trustees; Emma Marshall and Elizabeth Smith have also joined.

Valentina Todino proposed and Philip Clark seconded the motion to ratify the new trustees and all those present agreed to their appointment.

David Mezzetti and Shaun Gillanders stood down from the Board and stood for re-election having expressed willingness to continue. Helen Hartstein proposed and Emma Marshall

seconded the motion that David Mezzetti and Shaun Gillanders be re-elected. The meeting agreed their re-election unanimously.

Jenny Longford stood down as Chair of the RSD Board but will remain a trustee. The role of Chair will pass to Helen Hartstein. Kiven Emmanuel proposed and Philip Clark seconded the motion that Helen Hartstein be elected as Chair of the Board of Refugee Support Devon. The meeting agreed unanimously.

# 4. Any other business:

David and Ruth described all the work Jenny had done as a volunteer and then as Chair of the RSD Board over many years. The whole meeting thanked her for this and welcomed the news that she will continue her involvement in RSD in future years.

All staff and trustees were thanked for their hard work in 2023-24, which had been a good year for RSD.

Rupert presented a summary of the work of RSD in the previous year.

Three service users spoke of the value in their lives of the help provided by RSD.